5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

5.2 Adopt Post-Election Meeting of Council Minutes 09 April 2024

The purpose of this Report is for Council to adopt the Minutes of the Post-Election Meeting of Council held on Tuesday, 09 April 2024.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

Moved By Cr. K. A. Maguire Seconded By Cr. M. J. James

That this Report be received and that:

1.The Unconfirmed Minutes of the Post-Election Meeting of Council held on Tuesday, 09 April 2024 copies of which have been circulated to Members, be taken as read and confirmed.



Special Meeting of Council Minutes

Date: Tuesday, 9 April, 2024

Time: 8:00 am

Location: WDRC - Corporate Office - Boardroom

30 Marble Street, Dalby Qld 4405

Voting Members: Cr. A. N. Smith

Cr. K. A. Bourne Cr. O. G. Moore Cr. S. J. Condon Cr. P. T. Saxelby

Cr. K. A. Maguire Cr. G. M. Olm Cr. M. J. James Cr. S. Bougoure

Officers: J. Taylor, Chief Executive Officer

B. Bacon, General Manager (Corporate Services)

G. Cook, General Manager (Infrastructure Services)

D. Fletcher, General Manager (Community & Liveability)

B. Donald, Senior Executive Officer

A. Lyell, Executive Services Administration officer

1. MEETING OPEN

The Chairperson declared the meeting open at 8.03am.

2. OPENING PRAYER AND MINUTE SILENCE

Joel Pukallus from the Lutheran Church, delivered the opening prayer. This was followed by the observance of a minute silence.

3. APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

4. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

4.1 Executive Services Report Appointment of Deputy Mayor Post-Election Meeting 9 April 2024

The purpose of this Report is to propose the appointment of a Deputy Mayor.

COUNIL RESOLUTION

MOVED by: Cr. M. J. James Seconded by: Cr. P. T. Saxelby

That Council resolves to appoint Cr. K. A. Bourne as Deputy Mayor in accordance with section 175 of the *Local Government Act 2009*.

5. CONSIDERATION AND COMPOSITION OF COUNCILLOR PORTFOLIOS

5.1 Executive Services Report Appointment of Councillor Portfolio Spokespersons

The purpose of this Report is to appoint Councillors to relevant Councillor portfolios.

COUNIL RESOLUTION

MOVED by: Cr. O.G. Moore Seconded by: Cr. G. M. Olm

That Council resolves to assign Councillors as spokespersons to the following portfolios:

	Portfolio	Portfolio Definition	Portfolio Spokesperson
	Economic Advocacy and Investment Attraction	Regional Economic Advocacy, Regionally Significant Investment Attraction and Disaster Management	Cr. A. N. Smith
	Corporate Governance and Finance	Finance, Governance, and Internal Audit	Cr. O. G. Moore
	Works and Technical Services	Civil Works, Fleets, Quarries, Asset Management, and Design	Cr. G. M. Olm
	Utilities	Water, Wastewater, and Gas	Cr. S. J. Condon
	Council Facilities	Council Facilities (Aerodromes, Sporting Facilities, Showgrounds, and Community Buildings)	Cr. S. Bougoure
	Planning and Environment	Statutory Planning, Development and Compliance, Environment and Health, Waste and Rural Services	Cr. K. A. Bourne
	Tourism and Recreational Spaces	Tourism Attraction, Major Events, Parks, Open Spaces, Gardens, and Cemeteries	Cr. K. A. Maguire
	Community and Cultural Development	Libraries, Community Development and Cultural Development	Cr. P. T. Saxelby
	Business Strategy and Economic Development	Business Strategy and Planning (Including Saleyards) and Economic Development	Cr. M. J. James

CARRIED

6. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE, WORKING GROUPS AND STEERING GROUPS

6.1 Executive Services Report Councillor Appointment to Statutory Committees and Reference Groups

This Report is to provide Council an opportunity to appoint Councillors to statutory committees, the Dalby Regional Saleyards Reference Group and the Community Grants Assessment Reference Group.

COUNIL RESOLUTION

MOVED by: Cr. K.A. Bourne Seconded by: Cr. G. M. Olm

That Council resolve to:

- 1. appoint the Mayor Cr. A. N. Smith to the role of Chairperson of the Western Downs Regional Council Local Disaster Management Group;
- appoint Deputy Mayor Cr. K. A. Bourne as Deputy Chairperson of the Western Downs Regional Council Local Disaster Management Group;
- 3. appoint Mayor Cr. A. N. Smith and Cr. O. G. Moore to the Western Downs Regional Council Audit Committee;
- 4. appoint Cr. S. J. Condon and Cr. G. M. Olm to the Wambo Shire River Improvement Trust;
- 5. appoint Cr. M. J. James (as Chairperson) and Cr. O. G. Moore to the Dalby Regional Saleyards Reference Group; and
- appoint Cr. K. A. Bourne (as Chairperson), Cr. M. J. James, Cr. S. Bougoure, Cr. P. T. Saxelby, and Cr. S. J. Condon to the Community Grants Assessment Reference Group.

7. SETTING OF MEETING DATES, TIMES AND VENUES

7.1 Executive Services Report Consideration Meeting Dates, Times and Location

The purpose of this Report is to consider Council meeting dates, times and location.

COUNIL RESOLUTION

MOVED by: Cr. M.J. James Seconded by: Cr. O.G. Moore

That Council resolves, pursuant to section 256(1) of the *Local Government Regulation* 2012, to adopt the following Ordinary Council Meeting and Special (Adopt 2024-2025 Budget) Meeting dates, times, and locations:

Ordinary Meeting Thursday 18 April	Jandowae Customer Service Centre Tara Customer Service Centre	9:30am
		0.00
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 16 May	Service Certife	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 20 June	Dalby Corporate Office	9:30am
Special (Adopt 2024-2025 Budget) Meeting Thursday 20 June	Dalby Corporate Office	12:30pm
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 18 July	Chinchilla Customer Service Centre	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 15 August	Wandoan Customer Service Centre	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 19 September	Miles Customer Services Centre	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 17 October	Jandowae Customer Service Centre	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 21 November	Tara Customer Service Centre	9:30am
Ordinary Meeting Thursday 5 December	Dalby Corporate Office	9:30am

8. MEETING CLOSURE

The Meeting concluded at 8:47 am.

