Page menu

Announcing the Western Downs Regional Australia Day Award Winners

26 January 2016

Western Downs Regional Council Mayor Ray Brown is honoured to announce the Regional Winners of the Western Downs Australia Day Awards.

The 2016 Regional Winners are:

  • Citizen of the Year Award — Peter McKinnon
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award — Jason Erbacher
  • Cultural Award — Lydia Cunnington
  • Sports Achievement Award — Sam Rasmussen
  • Community Project / Event of the Year Award — “Jandowae Zone 4 Junior Rugby League Carnival” Jandowae Junior Rugby League Zone 4 Committee

Cr Brown said the quality of nominations received for the 2016 Australia Day Awards was of an exceptionally high standard.

“Selecting winners from a collective of worthy inspirational, selfless, and dedicated individuals and groups was an extremely difficult task for the judging panel, and on behalf of Council, I congratulate all our winners on their outstanding contributions to our region,” he said.

“The significant number of nominations we received for this year’s Australia Day Awards highlights the inspirational work that our communities are doing and signifies that the ‘Aussie Spirit’ is strong and plentiful throughout the Western Downs.

“The Australia Day Awards gives us a chance to formally recognise our residents, volunteers and community groups who often fly under the radar, and who go above and beyond to enrich our communities.

“I applaud the efforts of all our winners, and commend the exceptional accomplishments of Peter, Jason, Lydia, Sam, and the Jandowae Junior Rugby League Zone 4 Committee.”

For the full list of Local Award Winners and their profiles, visit Council’s Australia Day 2016 webpage or call 1300 COUNCIL.

— Ends —