Western Downs Libraries

One library service – nine library branches

Western Downs Regional Council libraries are a vital and progressive part of our townships and provide a wide range of resources and services to meet the needs of residents.

We invite you to visit your local branch today and explore the possibilities; library membership is free and we offer a free public computer and internet use. Well over half of our regional population are active members of their local library.

For more information on resources and services, and what’s happening at your local library, contact a branch close to you. Council libraries are easy to contact:

 

Branch Address Email Telephone
Bell 71 Maxwell Street, Bell  Qld 4408 bell.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4663 1113
Chinchilla 80-86 Heeney Street,  Chinchilla Qld 4413 chinchilla.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4660 7270
Dalby 107 Drayton Street, Dalby Qld 4405 dalby.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4679 4474
Jandowae 22 George Street, Jandowae Qld 4406 jandowae.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4679 3480
Meandarra Sara Street, Meandarra Qld 4422 meandarra.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4665 6147
Dogwood Crossing @ Miles Cnr Dawson & Murilla Street, Miles Qld 4415 miles.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4628 5330
Moonie Leichhardt Highway, Moonie Qld 4406 moonie.rtc@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4665 0189
Tara 31 Day Street, Tara Qld 4421 tara.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4679 4481
Wandoan 6 Henderson Road, Wandoan Qld 4419 wandoan.library@wdrc.qld.gov.au 07 4558 3045

 

All branches have moved from stand-alone libraries into an integrated, fully independent library service and residents are encouraged to make the most of this valuable community facility. Library services have been enhanced to reflect the needs of the community.

Enhancements to library services include:

  • inter-library lending now available;
  • customers can purchase requests for books and media items;
  • access to over 70, 000 free resources for borrowers;
  • extensive catalogue of reference websites which are linked to the Queensland school curriculum; and
  • wide collection of bestsellers, music CDs, popular DVDs, audio books and magazines.

The library’s web interface is also being redesigned and members will soon be able to set-up their own personal library profile to rate and review items and elect to receive regular updates on new stock, staff book reviews, Top 10 lists and e-newsletters.

For full details, visit the Western Downs Libraries website where you can browse our catalogue, renew your loans or reserve books on-line.

imagine I connect I experience